Celiacs: shopping at the supermarket

    384
    0
    Compartir

    As you may recall in the previous article we talked about celiac disease, which is an intolerance to the nutrient gluten found in wheat, barley, rye and probably in oat as well.When the diagnosis of celiac disease occurs, then a series of questions  come to mind such as: Am I going to eat? Or am I am going to starve? Am I going to get malnourished? Is the food going to taste bad? How am I going to take lunch for work and what to consume in restaurants? Among others.However, a doctor who specializes in this field will guide your diet, or will recommend you to visit a nutritionist with experience in this area. The first thing that they will give you is a list of allowed and restricted foods, also a list of certified gluten free brands and some tips.Then, from the list not everything is found in all supermarkets so you need to check where you can find them near your home. Examples of places that sell these foods are Automercado, Compre Bien, Green Center, Mas x menos, Pan Celestial, among others.Many labels have the legend, “may contain gluten” because they manufactured foods that contain gluten, for example, the same machinery used to produce wheat crackers for corn biscuits could be used for the gluten free food as well.

    Recommendations when grocery shopping:It is recommended that when you go to the supermarket you have enough time to make a successful purchase, with fresh, nutritious and healthy food.With processed foods such as cookies, salad dressings, and others, you have to be especially careful, not all foods that say gluten free on their label really are free of gluten. On the shelves you will find products that ensure they are free of gluten but they are not certified. We recommend visiting the website of the association of celiac disease of each country.Then, stopping to read the label, is an elementary practice that will guide the purchase process allowing you to do a better product selection. If the label does not specify the type of thickener, neither the starch vegetable protein, you should not go through with the purchase because it could contain gluten.When you read the label, the additives and ingredients that may be being used in food processing and could be derived from gluten are: caramel, citric acid, excipients, dyes.

    • Vitamin E, Cyclodextrin, bean extract, Dextrin, Palmitate, Maltodextrin, C8-16.

    The soups, bouillons and sauces usually contain gluten. The names that appear in the table below may appear on the label and they have gluten because they are derived from wheat, barley and rye.

    Comentarios

    comentarios

    No hay comentarios

    Dejar una respuesta